Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Fwd: [Manushi] Press Statement in support of Prof. Madhu Kishwar & condemning discriminatory conduct of CSDS

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Madhu Kishwar <madhukishwar@manushi-india.org>
Date: Tue, May 10, 2016 at 12:50 PM
Subject: [Manushi] Press Statement in support of Prof. Madhu Kishwar & condemning discriminatory conduct of CSDS
To: Manushi-india <manushi-india@googlegroups.com>

Indian Academics Protest Discriminatory Conduct of CSDS against Prof Madhu Purnima Kishwar


10 May 2016

We, the undersigned academics, wish to express our whole-hearted support to Prof. Madhu Kishwar, a prominent academic and public intellectual, in her challenge to the discrimination she has suffered at the hands of the Centre for the Study of Developing Societies' administration. We are appalled at the unethical and illegal treatment meted out to her, even though the CSDS's administration has not had a single complaint against her through the twenty years that she has served that institution.

This victimization and harassment of Prof. Madhu Kishwar has culminated in the denial of affiliation to CSDS required for her to avail of the prestigious Mahatma Gandhi National Fellowship instituted by the ICSSR. Such a denial is unprecedented since no educational institution in India has ever denied affiliation to an ICSSR fellowship holder, leave alone a National Fellowship awardee of ICSSR. The reason cited for this denial of affiliation is patently absurd, especially when it turns out that in the last fifteen years, CSDS has granted affiliation to scores of scholars, including rank outsiders (details are available here: http://swarajyamag.com/politics/academic-intolerance-csds-denies-affiliation-to-madhu-kishwar-2 ).

Prof. Madhu Kishwar, who pioneered new thinking on women's rights, human rights and issues of social justice, and whose work for the marginalized groups of our society is well known, eminently deserves the ICSSR fellowship. It is hard to believe that an institution claiming to uphold high standards of humanities should have stooped so low simply because Prof. Kishwar does not toe its ideological line. Besides, this act of vindictiveness against her speaks volumes about the hypocrisy of those who have in recent times projected themselves as champions of "tolerance", "debate" and "liberalism".

We call on CSDS's administration to tender an unconditional apology to Prof. Madhu Kishwar and take all steps to rectify this shameful situation.


Prof. Kapil Kapoor, former Professor of English, JNU; former rector and pro-Vice Chancellor, JNU

Prof. Chandrakala Padia, Vice Chancellor, MGS University, Bikaner

Prof. B.K. Kuthiala, Vice Chancellor, MC National University of Journalism and Communication, Bhopal

Prof. Daya Nath Tripathi, former chairman, Indian Council of Historical Research

Prof. Michel Danino, guest professor, IIT Gandhinagar; member, Indian Council of Historical Research

Dr. Nanditha Krishna, Professor & Director, CPR Institute of Indological Research, Chennai

Prof. Jagbir Singh, former Professor and Head, Dept. of Punjabi, University of Delhi; Life Fellow, Punjabi University, Patiala

Prof. Amarjiva Lochan, Associate Professor in History, Delhi University; President, South and Southeast Asian Association for the Study of Culture & Religion

Dr. M.D. Srinivas, former Vice-Chairman, Indian Institute of Advanced Study; chairman, Centre for Policy Studies, Chennai; member, Indian Council of Historical Research

Prof. M.S. Sriram, retired Professor and Head, Department of Theoretical Physics, University of Madras; member of Editorial Board, Indian Journal of History of Science and Ganita  Bharati; former member, Research Council for History of Science, INSA

Prof. K. Ramasubramanian, Cell for Indian Science and Technology in Sanskrit, IIT Bombay; Council member, International Union for History and Philosophy of Science

Dr. J.K. Bajaj, Director, Centre for Policy Studies, New Delhi

Prof. R. Vaidyanathan, economist, Indian Institute of Management Bangalore

Dr. P. Kanagasabapathi, Professor and author, SASTRA University, Tamil Nadu.

Prof. K. Gopinath, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Dr. Kausik Gangopadhyay, Associate Professor, Economics Area, Indian Institute of Management Kozhikode

Prof. Amartya K. Datta, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata

Dr. Krishen Kak, former guest faculty at Indian Institute of Foreign Trade, former Senior Fellow at National Institute of Adult Education

Dr. Bharat Gupt, former Associate Professor, Delhi University

Dr. Avadesh Kumar Singh, former Vice Chancellor, Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University, Ahmedabad; Professor, School of Translation Studies and Training, Indira Gandhi National Open University

Prof. Rajeev S., adjunct faculty, IIM Bangalore

Prof. A.K. Jain, Physics Department, IIT Roorkee

Prof. Ganesh Ramakrishnan, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Bombay.

Prof. C.S. Aravinda, TIFR Centre for Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore

Dr. Anil Kumar Gourishetty, Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

Prof. Venkappayya Desai, Civil Engineering Dept., Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

Prof. Neeraj Kumbhakarna, Department of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Bombay

Prof. Shripad M. Garge, assistant professor, Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Prof. Varadraj Bapat, School of Management, IIT Bombay

Prof. Ashish Pandey, SJMSOM, IIT Bombay

Prof. Arun A. Somasundara, PhD (UCLA), Computer Science & Engineering, Rajeev Institute of Technology, Hassan

Prof. Ramesh Bharadwaj, Head, Department of Sanskrit, Delhi University

Prof. Milind A. Sohoni, CTARA, IIT Bombay

Prof. Ashwin Gumaste, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Bombay.

Prof. Milind Marathe, Associate Professor, K.J. Somaiya College of Engg., Mumbai

Dr Nomesh B. Bolia, Department of Mechanical Engineering, IIT Delhi

Prof. Manish Kumar, Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore

Dr Lata Shenava, Research Scientist, IIT Bombay

Dr. Parag Singla, Assistant Professor, Dept. of CSE, IIT Delhi

Prof. Radhey Shyam, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata

Prof. Sunanda Bagchi, Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore

Prof. S. Krishnan, Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Dr. Ayon Bhattacharjee, Associate professor, Department of Physics, NIT Meghalaya

Dr. Suneet Varma, Associate Professor of Psychology, University of Delhi

Dr. Subhajit Sen, Associate Professor, International Institute of Information Technology, Bangalore

Dr. J.S.R. Prasad, Associate Professor & Head, Dept. of Sanskrit Studies, University of Hyderabad

Dr Laxmidhar Behera, Professor, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Dr. Indranil Biswas, School of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

Dr. S. Venkatesh, Assistant Professor (Physics), Amrita University, Coimbatore

Shounak Set, Researcher, Jawaharlal Nehru University

Dr. P. Sasikala, Associate Professor in New Media Technology, Makhanlal Chaturvedi National University, Bhopal


You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Manushi" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to manushi-india+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.


sent from samsung galaxy note, so please excuse brevity

sent from samsung galaxy note3 neo, so please excuse brevity

No comments: